Easy Grow Bee Plant


Dahlias Feed Bees

Dahlias Feed Bees

Back in March, using all my optimism, given the snowfall and cold I sowed some seed of dahlia Coltness Hybrids. These dahlias are single or double flowered, so still have plenty of pollen on offer, unlike the overblown, full petalled ones. Carefully nurtured, they are now in full flower and are attracting all kinds of bees. The orange ones seem to get more attention than the red ones which germinated. I will be saving the tubers which have no doubt formed, and taking cuttings next spring to increase the colours I want more of. What a delightfully cheap way to help save the bees, and I get to sit and watch them when having coffee on the patio. Wildlife needs our help and I need colour! What flower choices do you make for the bees? I’d love to hear your ideas.

2 responses to “Easy Grow Bee Plant

  1. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

